home | contact | sitemap | member login

Gallery - 2008 Award Winners

Awards Juror: Preston Metcalf

Preston Metcalf says he is blessed with the ability to recognize great art, but cursed with the inability to produce it … that is why he is a curator and art historian. Preston began his career as a Curator of Art at the San Jose Museum of Art. He then moved to the Triton Museum of Art, first as Curator of Education, then as Assistant Director for several years. Preston then went on to become Executive Director of the San Jose Institute of Contemporary Art.  He has lectured on art and art history throughout the country and abroad.  He has had published more than sixty articles and essays on artists and art history. After a brief interlude of teaching and writing, he returned to the Triton Museum, where he now works as Manager of External Affairs and Curator of Art.  He also teaches Art History at Mission College, San Jose City College, and the Triton Museum of Art.

Preston Metcalf with SCVWS Award Winners 2008
Preston Metcalf with the Award Winners
Standing from left to right: Preston Metcalf, Terri Hill, Mary Hopf, Lynn O'Brien, Jane Ferguson, Candy Yu, Nancy Collins, Belinda Lima, Myrna Wacknov, Carolyn Larsen, Bernice Owens
Front from left to right: Nina Uppalura, Rajani Balaram, Taryn Curiel, Nancy Near, Lyn Garadis
Photograph by Nava Attia-Benoit

2008 Award Winners

2008 Sponsor Awards

SCVWS would like to give a big THANK YOU to our sponsors for their generous support: M. Graham, University Art, Picture Element, Accent Arts, Creative Catalyst, Daniel Smith, Union Avenue Framing, and Art & Frames Unlimited