home | contact | sitemap | member login

Gallery - 2019 Award Winners


2019 Award Winners
Front row left to right: Jeanne Ahearn, Karen Bacica, Candy Yu, Helen Jones, Jane Hofstetter
Back  row: Teresa Beyer, Kat Mergens, Donna Davies, Dmitry Grudsky, LaVonne Carrick, Michael Granger.
Not present: Peter Carey, Mohana Pradhanm, Janice Schafir, Elizabeth Liebert, Nancy Near, Kaaren Marquez, Margaret Washington, Yvonne Newhouse, Linda Taylor, Caroline McClintic, Shao Wei Lu,
Susan Jochheim, Melanie Kaye
Photo by Anne Heine

jjuristJurist  Esther Fernandez received her BA in Chicana /Ethnic Studies from U.C. Berkeley and her M.A. in Visual and Critical Studies  from California  College of the  Arts in San Francisco. Since 2004 she has served as Curator of Art & Education at the Triton Museum of Art  and in 2017 was promoted to Chief Curator. Her curatorial  essay for the Consuelo Jimenez  Underwood exhibition will be published in Dr. Laura Perez’s upcoming anthology  on the artist  by Duke University  Press.

Juror's comments:

What a lovely grouping of work. I was very impressed with the level of mastery, range of techniques, subject matter and overall creativity. It was wonderful to spend time looking at the work and I found myself going back through several times, enjoying what each painting had to offer. Thank you for sharing your work with me .

View as slideshow

2019 Award Winners

2019 Sponsor Awards

SCVWS would like to give a big THANK YOU to our sponsors for their generous support: Picture ElementsUniversity Art, Creative CatalystTony Baxter FramingCheap Joes, Dick Blick Art Supplies, Judson's Art Outfitters, California Art Supply Co, Golden Artists Colors, A Work of Heart, Lenz Arts, and Award in memory of Terri Hill (her book and painting).